Posted by: Burlington Public Library (WA) | May 5, 2010

The ways we get by

It seems as if America has a love affair with movies.  Do you know our DVD collection sees the most use per item in our library?  We use video to learn, entertain, relax, broaden our horizons, and open our hearts.  One of our new DVDs played all those roles for me recently. 

The Way We Get ByIt’s a documentary called The Way We Get By.  The story is simple: it features three senior citizens who are very dedicated to greeting returning Iraq-war veterans as they return home.

But the film is about much more than that.  I’ll let you discover it for yourself, but I will share that it touched both my heart and my mind, and is still hanging around, kind of nudging at both.

—Mary Beth

Responses

  1. ooops! Yes, substitute ‘head’ for hear – mine is still ok I think – hearing, that is!!!!

  2. Sounds interesting, Mary Beth, guess I will just have to check it out.

    The hiking pics were fabulous. Guess his hikes are mostly over my hear. I’m scouting out easy and pretty places to go with grandkids.

    Looking forward to seeing you this coming Tues.

    Betty


Leave a Reply

Categories

