Posted by: Burlington Public Library (WA) | September 16, 2010

Favorite author writes a new book!

The novel City of Light, by author Lauren Belfer, is one of my favorite books of the last several years. The story takes place in Buffalo, New York, at the turn of the century, when the city is booming (due in part to the coming of electricity). Here’s what’s making headlines in the Buffalo newspapers: environmentalists are pitted against business men over the exploitation of nature for profit; power brokers are controlling people and events to their benefit; new technology is threatening to create a culture of haves and have nots; and, there’s a bit of presidential indiscretion going on. While these might all sound like something straight out of the headlines in 2010, the book is set over a hundred years ago. Mix in a subtle mystery, and just a bit of romance, and you’ve got a great book.

The library recently purchased Belfer’s latest book, A Fierce Radiance, a novel set in New York City during World War II. I’ve been told (by someone whose opinion I value), that it’s not appropriate to review a book I haven’t read.  Since I haven’t yet had time to read this new book by one of my favorite authors, I’m just going to say that I hope she doesn’t let me down. 

I’ll get back to you after I’ve found time to read Belfer’s latest.

~Janice

Leave a Reply

Categories

