Posted by: Burlington Public Library (WA) | November 22, 2011

A big loss for the writing world

Anne McCaffrey died yesterday.  She was 85.

She started publishing books in 1967, and wrote more than 100, across every age group, and across nine series.  One of the first popular woman science fiction writers, she was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America in 2005.  She was the first woman to win a Hugo Award, the first woman to win a Nebula Award, and the first science fiction writer to make the New York Times Best Seller List.

Pretty impressive facts.  But I can speak from the place of a life-long fan.  McCaffrey has been a magic name for my reading pleasure ever since I can remember.  Oh, some of her worlds weren’t my cup of tea, and the quality of writing varied.  But each book took me to a familiar place that I love, peopled with characters I care about, who share many of my values.  The richness of her imagination built whole worlds that I love to play in.  (Also, a little steamy romance never hurts.)

Tonight in the library, a teenaged girl told me she wanted to read harder books than she has been.  But good books.  I put a few teen McCaffrey books in the pile for her to consider.  Anne deserves a new fan.

   —Mary Beth

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

