Posted by: Burlington Public Library (WA) | June 26, 2012

Honoring the authors

One of my favorite parts about being a reader is revering some of the people who feed my habit. Authors.  People who create whole worlds, write characters I come to know and love, use words to help me think different thoughts, and help me experience more of the world vicariously than I’ll ever touch or taste physically.

I’ll never meet most of them (which helps with the revering part), and yet they matter to me.  I like knowing they’re out there, thinking and feeling and struggling to write it all down.  So I mark the passing of Ray Bradbury, one of the masters of American science fiction and a strong, lifelong advocate of libraries and civil rights. 

Here’s a beautiful eulogy for him, by NPR’s Peter Sagal.  

—Mary Beth

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

