Posted by: Burlington Public Library (WA) | November 2, 2012

National Book Awards

Have you ever noticed this emblem on a book cover and wondered what it meant? The National Books Awards are handed out each year to titles in four categories: Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry, and Young people’s literature. To be eligable for the award, books must be written by U.S. authors and published in the United States. The awards are handed out by the National Book Foundation whose mission is “to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of good writing in America.

This year’s finalists have been announced, here’s the list:
Junot Díaz, This is How You Lose Her
Dave Eggers, A Hologram for the King
Louise Erdrich, The Round House
Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk
Kevin Powers, The Yellow Birds

When the 2012 award winners are announced later this month, we’ll post the results. In the meantime, and all five titles in the fiction category are available here at the library. If you read one of these five finalist, post a comment and let us know what you think.




  1. […] month I wrote about the fiction finalists for the National Book Award. (Here’s a link to that blog post if you missed […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: