Posted by: Burlington Public Library (WA) | September 18, 2013

While they’re off duty: Christi Kinney

For out continuing While they’re off duty series, we talked to Christi Kinney, the city’s Recreation Coordinator, about a book that meant a lot to her:

christi As the Recreation Coordinator for the City of Burlington, my job is to provide recreational and leisure activities, community events, and programs for the citizens of Burlington and outlying areas. I’m lucky enough to network and partner with several local service clubs, the Burlington-Edison School District, the Burlington Chamber of Commerce, and various community groups and business.

I have lived in the BE School District my whole life, attended Edison Elementary and am a proud BE grad. I have been married to my husband Kris for 20 years, and have four children: two currently attend BESD, and two have graduated from BEHS. We are lucky enough to live on an acre in the country, where we have five chickens and one grumpy rooster; a petite tabby cat named Ella; a Jack Russell named Mary; and a 14 month-old 90-pound coonhound/black lab monster named Rosie, who is spoiled rotten.

Last year, my daughter recommended I read Wild by Cheryl Strayed.  The book tells the story of a 1100 mile solo hike the author took at age twenty-six.  The hike came at a key point in her life: her mother had died, her marriage was destroyed, and her family had scattered.  As the back of the book says, “She had no experience as a long-distance hiker, and the trail was little more than ‘an idea, vague and outlandish and full of promise.’ But it was a promise of piecing back together a life that had come undone.”  Wild really changed my way of thinking, and I started asking myself “what am I waiting for?”

Around Wild, by Cheryl Strayedthe same time, I found a quote that really resonated with me: “If you teach, you need to LIVE what you teach.”  Being a Recreation Coordinator I realized I needed to RECREATE more!  This past year, hiking has become a favorite activity of mine, especially sharing the trails with my family and friends. We also enjoy camping, hosting BBQs, watching movies, and recently, Settlers of Catan!

Leave a Reply

Categories

